COUNTY OF HORRY	)	
	)	RESOLUTION
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA	)	

## A RESOLUTION ADOPTING THE HORRY COUNTY ALL-HAZARDS MITIGATION PLAN.

**WHEREAS**, areas of Horry County are subject to periodic flooding, hurricanes, tornados, storm surge, wildfires, severe thunderstorms and wind, and other natural and man-made hazards that have the potential to cause harm to people, property damage, and adversely impact school-related operations within the area, and;

WHEREAS, Horry County Schools desires to prepare and mitigate such hazards, and;

**WHEREAS**, under the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000, the United States Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) requires that local jurisdictions have in place a FEMA approved ALL-Hazards Mitigation Plan as condition of receipt of certain future federal mitigation funding after November 1, 2004, and;

**WHEREAS**, the Horry County All-Hazards Mitigation Plan was developed in accordance with the regulations of the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 and the guidance provided by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and;

**WHEREAS**, to assist jurisdictions and special purpose districts identified in the strategy of the Plan, in meeting this requirement, the Horry County Emergency Management Department has facilitated the development of a multijurisdictional All-Hazards Plan, and;

**WHEREAS**, the Horry County Emergency Management Department assures that the All-Hazards Mitigation Plan will be reviewed accordingly.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** by virtue of the power and authority granted to the Horry County Schools' Board of Education by the South Carolina General Assembly, the Board of Education hereby adopts the Horry County All-Hazards Mitigation Plan.

## AND IT IS SO RESOLVED.

Dated this 22<sup>nd</sup> day of March, 2021.

## HORRY COUNTY SCHOOLS' BOARD OF EDUCATION

Ken Richardson, Chairman		
W. Russell Freeman, District 1 Sherrie Todd, District 2 Ray H. Winters, District 3 David Cox, District 4	Janet Graham, District 7 <i>Vacant,</i> District 8 James Edwards, District 9 Neil James, District 10	
Howard Barnard, District 5 Helen Smith, District 6	Shanda Allen, District 11	

Attest: